Education General Knowledge

7 Continents of the world

Image result for continents

There  widely recognized  7 continents in the world:-

  1. ASIA :- (43,820,000 sq km) It includes 50 countries. It is the most populated continent, the 60% of the total population of the Earth live here.
  2. AFRICA:-  (30,370,000 sq km) It comprises 54 countries. It is the hottest continent and home of the world’s largest desert, the Sahara, occupying the 25% of the total area of Africa.
  3. NORTH AMERICA:-  (24,490,000 sq km) It includes 23 countries led by the USA as the largest economy in the world.
  4. SOUTH AMERICA:-  (17,840,000 sq km) It comprises 12 countries. Here is located the largest forest, the Amazon rainforest, which covers 30% of the South America total area.
  5. ANTARCTICA :- (13,720,000 sq km) It is the coldest continent in the world, completely covered with ice. There are no permanent inhabitants, except of scientists maintaining research stations in Antarctica.
  6. EUROPE :- (10,180,000 sq km)It comprises 51 countries. It is the most developed economically continent with the European Union as the biggest economic and political union in the world.
  7. AUSTRALIA  :- (9,008,500 sq km) It includes 14 countries. It is the least populated continent after Antarctica, only 0.3% of the total Earth population live here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *